'BIM in Canada' Best Practice Forum - Forum des meilleures pratiques de la 'MDB au Canada'

Use Cases - Cas d'utilisation => Existing Conditions Modelling => Topic started by: carlveillette on January 31, 2017, 10:30:02 pm

Title: CIM, Horizontal BIM, BIM for infrastructure.
Post by: carlveillette on January 31, 2017, 10:30:02 pm
Hey BIM community,

first post on here since I finished setting up the forum test. Have you ever created large scale models using procedural modeling to create cities and infrastructures?

Which tool did you used CityEngine, Infraworks, other?

Any thoughts on this?

#CityInformationModeling #HorizontalBIM
Title: Re: CIM, Horizontal BIM, BIM for infrastructure.
Post by: brentmauti on January 31, 2017, 11:27:27 pm
We have done some exploration with Infraworks, but it was more focused on schematic design work for roads.  I have heard some good things about City Engine but we don't have any practical experience.
Title: Re: CIM, Horizontal BIM, BIM for infrastructure.
Post by: patrick_lalonde_ED on February 02, 2017, 09:23:34 am
I've done some work with this on the Ottawa LRT project, 13KM of track and 13 Stations, DTMs, and survey data. I was able to bring everything into Navisworks using Global (shared) Coordinate system and it was able to handle it pretty well
Title: Re: CIM, Horizontal BIM, BIM for infrastructure.
Post by: kirk.stalkie on February 02, 2017, 09:49:32 am
We are also exploring using Infraworks, but mostly for schematic design at this point to show more context around the site. It's also good for solar studies.
Title: Re: CIM, Horizontal BIM, BIM for infrastructure.
Post by: Andre Carvalho on February 02, 2017, 10:17:53 am
We tried Infraworks as well with mixed results. We also tried a plugin to extract information from OpenStreet Maps then pass it through Rhino and import as masses in Revit. Our latest attempt was using Flux Site Extractor (https://blog.flux.io/full-site-context-model-with-just-one-click-c60eb7cf9024#.h2vnfkpu6) but then again the results were not what we were expecting. I guess it all depends on how accurate you want the context to be. If it is for rendering surrounding buildings maybe the accuracy (height/shape) is not as important as if it is for shadows studies, solar radiation, wind analysis, etc. The best answer may be using one of the above to bring buildings that are farther away and manually model the context that's actually close enough to interact with the results you are trying to extract from your building.
Title: Re: CIM, Horizontal BIM, BIM for infrastructure.
Post by: carlveillette on April 15, 2017, 10:14:02 pm
We have done some pretty interesting stuff with Markham. They now have their city in 3D in infraworks.

(http://image-store.slidesharecdn.com/975b0781-e2e0-4034-b32c-ff02d176c4ba-original.png)